Welcome to the
Abington Social Library

Located in eastern Connecticut, the Abington Social Library has provided library services to the communities of Abington, Pomfret and neighboring towns for over 200 years. The library is proud of the fact that it served as a women's library in the early 1800's, more than a century before American women had the right to vote. Established in 1793, we are the oldest continuously operating social library in the United States. The Abington Social Library has retained its uniquely rural character while addressing the needs of a modern society.

Our mission has always been to provide a comfortable setting in which people can gather to further their education, obtain information, share and communicate ideas, and enrich their personal lives.


Featured Events


Tag Sale
Sunday, May 5th
From 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
At the Tracy House

Select image for more information..
event


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Annual Pet Show
Saturday, June 3rd
at Noon

Select image for more information.
event


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Coloring for Adults

Thursdays from 3:00 to 5:30
Supplies will be provided!

Select image for more information
Information and Application


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Featured Book

The Other Einstein

Featured BookBOOK DISCUSSION
In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.


Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.


Join us at the library for a book discussion of this fascinating historical novel on May 17th at 5:30 p.m. Meet the author on June 20 at 7:00 p.m. at the Mansion at Bald Hill, Woodstock, CT. Tickets available at all
participating libraries.

To find other book discussions and events in the area
go to www.quietcornerreads.org

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Quiet Corner Reads Past Selections
Past selections


~ ~ ~ ~ ~


footer